Welcome Week

COVID-19 Information: Cal State LA is closely monitoring the coronavirus (COVID-19) situation. For information, visit Cal State LA Health Watch.

Welcome Week

WELCOME WEEK SCHEDULE

Cal State LA is proud to welcome our new first-year and transfer students and our returning Golden Eagles to fall 2020! Welcome Week activities, workshops, and events are designed to help connect you to faculty, staff, and your fellow students so you can make the most of your Cal State LA experience.

MONDAY, AUGUST 24

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Public Safety - Commuter Services

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Betina Cervantes bcervantes@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Student Health Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Stephanie Toledo stoledo3@calstatela.edu

TUESDAY, AUGUST 25

10am
Black Student Welcome

Zoom
Start your fall semester off by connecting to current students, faculty, and staff members, and get info on academic resources and how to get involved on campus.

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Recreation

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Chris Balam cbalam2@calstatela.edu

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 26

10 a.m.
Black Student Welcome

Zoom
Start your fall semester off by connecting to current students, faculty, and staff members, and get info on academic resources and how to get involved on campus.

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Dreamers Resource Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Luz Borjon lborjon@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Dreamers Resource Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Luz Borjon lborjon@calstatela.edu

THURSDAY, AUGUST 27

4 p.m. - 6 p.m.
FSL HOUSE PARTY - GREEK GAME NIGHT

Zoom
Come and learn more about the Fraternity & Sorority Life community and enjoy some games! For more information, please visit us on Instagram @CalStateLAGreeks

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Recreation

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Chris Balam cbalam2@calstatela.edu

FRIDAY, AUGUST 28

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: NSS Advisement Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact LaVona Thomas lthoma2@calstatela.edu

MONDAY, AUGUST 31

5 p.m. - 8 p.m.
BRIDGING THE GAP: AFRICAN DIASPORA

Zoom
An Annual Cultural show to highlight the brilliance, significance, and versatility that Black culture has while debunking the stereotypical notions of what it means to be Black within Black Culture.

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Career Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Jonathan Choy jchoy4@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Office of the Dean of Students

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Jen Miller jmiller@calstatela.edu

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1

CONSTITUTION DAY CHALLENGE


Instagram
Check out our CSI Instagram on how to participate in the Constitution Day Challenge. Winners will be announced on September 17. For more information, please visit the CSI Linktree & Instagram @CSIcalstateLA

1 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Cross Cultural Centers

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Laura Tejeda ltejeda@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Center for Student Involvement

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Marielena Becerra mbecerra@calstatela.edu

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 2

11 a.m. – 12 p.m.
COMING IN QUEER

Zoom
A monthly program in the Gender and Sexuality Resource Center that invites students to reflect on the complexity, joy and beauty of LGBTQIA+ identity in everyday life.

1 p.m - 3 p.m.
City of Orgs: The Virtual Edition

Zoom
Looking to find your place here at Cal State LA? Join the Zoom and meet over 50 student organizations at Cal State LA. Stay Connected Virtually

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: University Library

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Kelsey Brown kelsey.brown@calstatela.edu


12 p.m. - 1 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Office of Students with Disabilities

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Isis Stansberry cstansberry@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Athletics

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Demetrus Caldwell dcaldwe3@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Information Technology Services

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Rapeepun Suchin rsuchin@calstatela.edu

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 3

12 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
AMERICAN INDIAN STUDENT ASSOCIATION

Zoom
A weekly program that inv ites American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native students to come together to build community, vocalize their needs, and reflect on their experiences as Native students at Cal State LA. Visit the CCC linktree for zoom information.

2 p.m. – 3 p.m.
SPILLING TEA: DEBUNKING THE MYTHS BEHIND GREEK STEREOTYPES

Zoom
Join the Fraternity & Sorority Life community as we discussed and debunk some of the stereotypes that have been used to define us in the media and learn more about organizations!

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Veterans Resource Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Cesar Gonzalez crg@calstatela.edu


3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Student Health Center

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Jia Guillermo jguill34@calstatela.edu

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 4

11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Alumni Relations

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Priscilla Parks pparks@calstatela.edu

12 p.m. - 1 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Project Rebound

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Summer Brantner sbrantn2@calstatela.edu

3 p.m. - 4 p.m.
OPEN HOUSE: Recreation

Zoom Link
Questions? Contact Chris Balam cbalam2@calstatela.edu